Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party

Halloween has always been my favorite holiday, and in 2012 I was lucky enough to attend the Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party. Between the Boo to You Parade, the HalloWishes fireworks, and the special meet-and-greet opportunities with rarely seen characters, I thought it was well worth the money. I would attend one again in heartbeat, but since that wasn’t in the cards this year, we had a party in honor of Mickey’s Not-So-Scary.

Candy Corn Jello – No one in my family is really a fan of candy corn, but since it is a Halloween staple I wanted to incorporate it. I saw this random photo on a Twitter advertisement and I assumed what I saw was Jello, so that’s what I tried. All you do is make a layer of yellow Jello, a layer of orange Jello, and then whipped cream on top. I got the candy corn look I wanted without purchasing candy corn that no one was going to eat. 🙂

candy corn2

Paranormal Pretzels – This is an idea from Family Fun. It’s yogurt covered pretzels with melted white chocolate (use dye to get the colors you want) and mini M&Ms.

monsters

These are just Hostess Globalls a.k.a. Sno Balls (coconut & marshmallow covered chocolate cake with cream filling). I added Halloween stickers to dress them up.

orange globalls - Copy

Here are just some orange and black Oreo cookies and Cheetos Puffs I used for color. The skeleton cups were from Target.

cookies - Copy

Some of the decorations were from a Recollections Party Kit I got at Michaels. I added orange Mickey Mouse heads to plain black cups to bring in some Disney.

place settng2

Cupcakes – These are just vanilla cupcakes with white icing that I dyed orange. We had some Halloween sprinkles on hand. The cupcake holders and food pokes were from the Recollections party pack.

cupcakes3 - Copy

Here is the full tablescape. I’m really happy with how it came out.

Halloween table
One comment

Leave a Reply

